T-Shirts = Wedding Gifts

To begin, I must make a post-congratulatory statement to Katie and Jason on their nuptials. Congrats kids! Welcome to The Marriage Club! 

First project: The Wedding Shower Gift.

Every invitation included a letter. My letter was L. Lamp? No. Laughter? A little too “Uppercase Living” for me. Leftovers? Yes. Legos. YES. Legos won. So I ordered these little guys on e-bay, got them just in time to make their present… WTF am I going to do with a Lego bride and groom?!?! 

Make a Christmas ornament.

Unfortunately I couldn't custom order a Lego Cop and Bride. Had to settle for Bride and Groom.

 

The bride and groom are glued to the paper mache box. I had some other pretties to glue on, but they just didn’t look right. Something about Legos and rhinestones don’t mix. And yes, Katie and Jason looked just as smashing as their plastic counterparts.

Next Up: The Wedding Gift

So Katie, if you’re reading this, feel free to stop by anytime and pick up your gifts 🙂 

Katie willingly provided shirts from her and Jason’s closets. I had to pry some of them out of my husband’s hands because they were awesome shirts. The newlyweds are getting a slew of projects Generation T Beyond Fashion

Project 1: A Time and Place Mat (Project 31)

The book rates each of these a Level 3, of 5. That’s totally correct. These were harder than they looked. The idea of “quilting” on knits is tough because the fabric stretches.

I changed up the pattern a little – instead of layers of t-shirt/knit in the middle I used leftover flannel.

Project 2: Coast to Coasters (Project 33)

These were fun too! These were actually easier than the place mats. It wasn’t until after all four place mats, and all eight coasters that I decided to Google and find out why my thread kept breaking. I thought it was the crap thread, but the good stuff was doing it too. Turns out you need a big needle for knits. Well. Now I know!

Project 3: Running with Scissors (Project 36)

 I LOVE THIS!!! This is a table runner. To be put on a table… or end table… or anywhere you see fit. 
I tried to switch up the directions – but also had to make sure I wasn’t covering anything important (such as the “Cops Love Me” graphic).

And last, Project 4: Stocked Up


Wine bottle holder . Awesome and fun. Go team! These are great, I want to make a bunch just to have on hand in case we need a gift.

______________

One response to “T-Shirts = Wedding Gifts

  1. Pingback: From Our Readers: Ginny (again!) « Generation T

Leave a Reply

