Google Fashions

Hello crafters and non-crafters. I am back, altho, I never really left. 

August was full of crafting, Kenneth, running, Kenneth, Iowa State Fair, and the Ray Family Summer Extravaganza 2010. Some highlights included:

  • Kenny finally getting to meet Uncle Andrew and Aunt Leah
  • Kenny seeing his first butter cow
  • Kenny’s baptism
  • Daniel Ray (my dad!) became a two-time BLUE RIBBON WINNER at the Iowa State Fair (some people don’t even get one blue ribbon in their life – and in a food category? That’s even tougher!) [click on the link for the press release]
  • Garage sale t-shirts
  • Not sure this is a highlight, but I am back at work full-time, and Kenny started daycare (and loves every minute of it)

So to start we’re gonna back up. Here’s a couple of projects I made in early August.

The Google Dress

 

This is a super cute pattern from Generation-T, project 22 in Generation-T Beyond Fashion. It’s a cute babydoll dress. I made a few changes to the pattern. First off, the pattern calls for you to use a fitted shirt for the top part, and a baggy shirt for the bottom. I really wanted to use the Google shirt, so I used a pattern (I used this same bust-top pattern for my maternity dresses) for the top. And I added the pockets myself, because pockets are awesome. 

Perfect to pair with leggings or jeans for the weekend. 

One of the best parts about the Google t-shirt is that my super awesome husband got it at a garage sale for a quarter. A QUARTER. I love garage sales.

Stretch & Sew 1308

 

This is a shirt I’ve made before. Classic Stretch & Sew pattern. I wanted to make another one of this shirt because I LOVE LOVE LOVE my leopard print one. But I wanted it longer. So I added three inches. Issue: I love the leopard one because it’s not form fitting while I’m losing the baby weight. Three inches added just enough to make it clingy. Plus the fabrics are different. Here’s the back:

The Back.

 

And of course, your Ken update:

Ken Bear, at the Iowa State Fair

One response to “Google Fashions

  1. Nice mannequin. Also both dresses are super awesome. I really like the second one.

Leave a Reply

