Marathon Holiday Baking

Happy Holidays! The holiday baking has begun! I tried out 6 new recipes on Sunday, needed to get a head start for all the holiday parties and gatherings coming up later in the month.ย 

I’ve also been working on Christmas presents for the nieces and nephews, photos to come.

The Cookies

The Cookies

ย 

Michelle and I had a marathon baking day on Sunday! We made all the cookies on the cute tray above – Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter, Molasses, Butter, Strawberry Cream, Chocolate Coconut Neapolitans, Oreo Candy Cane Bark, and Peppermint Melt-aways. I made three others when I got home. It was a long day ๐Ÿ™‚

At Thanksgiving my sister-in-law let me browse a cook book she bought at the checkout at the grocery store. Sometimes I glance at them, but generally ignore because the internet gives me free recipes. There’s only a handful of recipes in here I don’t want to try, only because I already have a great sugar cookie recipe! Regardless, this one is a must have! It’s the Taste of Home Holiday: Christmas Cookies & Candies – I cannot find a picture of the cover – but I’ve seen it at every grocery store. I also noticed that some of the recipes are online, but go purchase the book anyways, then you have them in one place, right in front of you ๐Ÿ™‚

My favorite from the morning was Chocolate Coconut Neapolitans! Recipe is below, other recipes to follow.

Chocolate Coconut Neapolitans

ย 

Ingredients

  • 1 c butter
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 c flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 4 drops red food coloring (or more ๐Ÿ™‚
  • 1/2 cup flaked coconut, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp coconut extract (optional, this was my addition)
  • 4 1/2 tsp chocolate syrup
  • 1/2 c chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 tsp shortening

Directions

  1. Line a 9×5 loaf pan with waxed paper (or tinfoil), set aside. In large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Combine flour, baking powder and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.
  2. Divide dough into thirds (use your best judgement, it’s OK to be a little off!). Add almond extract and red food coloring to one portion, spread evenly ito prepared pan. Add coconut and coconut extract, spread evenly over first layer. Add chocolate syrup to third portion – we added too much, and it is delicious, but it was a bitch to cut later, use the recommended amount, or try substituting cocoa powder – do they make chocolate extract?; anyways spread over second layer. Cover with foil; freeze for four hours or overnight.ย 
  3. Unwrap loaf and cut in half length wise – I recommend doing this three times – so you cut it in half, then cut each of those halves again – so you have four long rectangles of dough. Cut each of portion widthwise into 1/4 in slices. Bake 2 inches apart on baking sheet, 350 for 12-14 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Remove to wire racks to cool.
  4. In microwave, melt chocolate chips and shortening, stir until smooth (Start at 1 minute, then heat for increments of 20 seconds – don’t burn your chips!). Dip one end of each cookie into chocolate, place on waxed paper or tinfoil (I prefer the latter), and let stand until they set. I like to sit them outside, because it’s Iowa and it’s cold!
2 responses to “Marathon Holiday Baking

  1. Those cookies taste just as good as they look!

  2. I enjoyed most of the cookies myself. I think it should be noted that when making peanut butter cookies, avoid the chocolate stars and use a Reese’s peanut butter cup! Those cookies have been the ones around here to disappear the fastest. When I made assorted cookie plates to give to neighbors, scout leaders, and friends, the PB cookie was the most raved about!

    Chad loves the Neos, I may need to make him more. We also liked the Cream Cheese ones with the jelly in the middle.

    I ended up making more cookies too, I used Paula Deen’s monster cookie recipe from foodnetwork.com but I didn’t use nuts or raisins. I called then Grinch cookies and only used red and green M&Ms.

Leave a Reply

