Pork and Beans Cake

 

Yes, you read that headline right – it really does say “Pork and Beans Cake” – and it’s AWESOME.

A coworker sent me the recipe, not because she knows how much I love beans, but because she knows I love to bake and try different things. 

You cant even see the beans!

You can't even see the beans!

 

Ingredients

  • 1 15oz can pork and beans
  • 1 8oz can of crushed pineapple
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup veg oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 T Baking powder
  • 2 T baking soda
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Drain some of the bean juice and mash beans until pureed. Add pineapple (do not drain any juice), sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla. Mix. Add flour, powder, soda, cinnamon and salt. Blend for two minutes until smooth. Bake in well-greased jelly roll pan for 30-35 minutes. Frost with Cream Cheese Frosting.

This cake is awesome!!! My roommates love it too. It has a carrot cake consistency, and if you didn’t tell anyone it was made with pork and beans, they would never know. I think the next time I try this, I’m going to use baked beans. If you try it, let me know what you think!

Next up is a bag I made a few weeks ago. I fell in love with the tree fabric immediately. It has a vintage feel, colors, with a modern twist – save the trees! The Tree Tote is fully lined, top band made with double sided biased tape, and the same belt/luggage strapping used on my plastic tote bags.

Tree Tote
Tree Tote

 

Tree Tote lining

Tree Tote lining

Leave a Reply

