A New iPod Accessory

A few weeks ago I bought some new headbands from an Indie craft sale. One of them has half a teal zipper made into a flower. It looks really cool, and I was really inspired to create my own! Then I opened the latest edition of SewStylish and what was the first project? “Feather Fascinator: Create a headband adorned with colorful feathers” A sign? Obviously.  

I bought some headbands from the D-Tree and started digging through my stash. I had three headbands to work with, and for the focus pieces I choose buttons, Worry-People dolls and my first edition iPod Shuffle. The shuffle died a few years ago and is all rusty on the USB end, obviously I wasn’t going to get rid of it. I was planning on making it into a brooch, so this seemed like a much better project. 

Ingredients:

Ingredients: felt, feather boa, rick rack, headbands, buttons, iPod, Worry-People, ribbon. You also need hot glue, I also used mod podge.

The Final Products

The Final Products

buttons

Button Headband: Lots and lots of white, cream, black, brown and gray buttons - so it can be worn with anything. Used lots and lots of glue. I may regret that later, but I made a good attempt to clean it up.

Worry People Headband: Cut a strip of purple linen fabric from a dress I made last week, mod-podged it to the headband, then added yellow and green rick rack. Then hot glued on the Worry-People

Worry People Headband: Cut a strip of purple linen fabric from a dress I made last week, mod-podged it to the headband, then added yellow and green rick rack. Then hot glued on the Worry-People

 

iPod Shuffle Headband: Headband is covered with a piece of white ribbon, then added a layer of leather-like sequins, then the felt/feather/tool/springy things and the iPod. I scratched the back of the iPod with a pin so that the glue would hold better than it would on the smooth surface. This one is my favorite.

iPod Shuffle Headband: Headband is covered with a piece of white ribbon, then added a layer of leather-like sequins, then the felt/feather/tool/springy things and the iPod. I scratched the back of the iPod with a pin so that the glue would hold better than it would on the smooth surface. This one is my favorite.

What would be some other fun things to put on headbands? Sometimes I just pin a brooch on for a one-time wear. Maybe other specialty buttons, old earrings…

3 responses to “A New iPod Accessory

  1. So…does the iPod work?! I love the Worry people. that one is my favorite.

  2. hahahaha, the shuffle headband is priceless – you could probably market a “sporty” version 🙂

  3. Oh my God your worry people headband is amazing!! You should make lots and sell them!! You can promote a worry-free lifestyle 🙂
    I wish I was creative like this x x

Leave a Reply

