… And we’re back!

I promise I haven’t been slacking. It’s been just the opposite, actually. I’ve been sewing like crazy to get my Iowa State Fair (“ISF”) projects done. Also, I had to stop being FunEmployed AND I’ve been training for the Hood To Coast race at the end of August in Portland. Busy? Not at all.

Lets start with the projects that didn’t make it to the fair: 

 

Ok, this wasnt really in the running for the fair, I made it about a month ago because I wanted a new clutch to match a new dress. Its made with gray plastic bags and embellished with vintage buttons and rickrack. Also, glitter.

Ok, this wasn't really in the running for the fair, I made it about a month ago because I wanted a new clutch to match a new dress. It's made with gray plastic bags and embellished with vintage buttons and rickrack. Also, glitter.

Simplicity 2863. Knit Dress. Very cute and comfy. Pretty easy too.

Simplicity 2863. Knit Dress. Very cute and comfy. Pretty easy too.

So, I bought this fabric on clearance, Mom thought it was going to suck. She doesn’t tell me this until AFTER I start sewing on it of course, because she knows how I get resistant when she tells me I can’t do something. So, this knit sews like a dream. I didn’t serge the inside because it wasn’t raveling at all.

The dress doesn’t actually unbutton – the front and back are one piece each. The strip down the middle is just another piece of fabric with fusible interfacing on the inside, then sewn down the whole length of the dress, and buttons sewn on for decor.

The gathers in the middle? Just as simple – just a strip sewn on the inside of the dress that you sewed four lines to get three tunnels to put elastic through – like this : | | | | So the elastic isn’t actually attached to the dress. The neck was easy, but since I’m not fantastic at knits its a little warbly.

Anyways, I’m in love.

I will post more about the projects entered in the ISF when the fair actually opens. But here’s a sneak preview:

 

My 6 projects - five of them are new, you may recognize my first Chop Top Frock in there. And I forgot to take a photo of the recycled plastic bag I made. Whoops. You get the idea.

My 6 projects - five of them are new, you may recognize my first Chop Top Frock in there. And I forgot to take a photo of the recycled plastic bag I made. Whoops. You get the idea.

One response to “… And we’re back!

  1. Wow, Ginny, You’re amazing!! What talent!! And I’m not kidding!!

Leave a Reply

