Super Summer Sewing

I have been sewing up a storm lately! Shirts for my nieces and I, recycled plastic bags and more. On Friday, July 3, my mom and I decided to visit some fabric stores, look at patterns and get inspired. We got some GREAT deals – between Jo-Ann’s and Hancock’s I got $208 worth of patterns (that would be 12 patterns total) for $18. It was a great day!

I’ve accomplished quite a bit over the last few weeks, but haven’t had a chance to get it all up and going, so this is going to be a mega-project filled entry.

First things first, sewing for kids!

 

This is my 8 year old niece, Brooke. Shes a hipster punk kid who loves farming and pink/black skulls. This pattern is current, but her mother remembers wearing similar tie-at-the-shoulder shirts as a kid.

This is my 8 year old niece, Brooke. She's a hipster punk kid who loves farming and pink/black skulls. This pattern is current, but her mother remembers wearing similar tie-at-the-shoulder shirts as a kid.

 

This is my 4 year old niece, Jade. Shes rocking the Spring Ruffle Top, with bugs. I had to adjust this pattern a bit for kids - made the straps 1.5in instead of 2.5in etc. I also skipped the ruffles because shes not really a ruffle girl. Theres bugs on her shirt!

This is my 4 year old niece, Jade. She's rocking the Spring Ruffle Top, with bugs. I had to adjust this pattern a bit for kids - made the straps 1.5in instead of 2.5in etc. I also skipped the ruffles because she's not really a ruffle girl. There's bugs on her shirt!

 

My friend Karri is packing her bags and moving from IOWA to NYC. Wow! Im so excited for her! I wanted to make sure to send her off in style with this recycled plastic bag. Our favorite side is the robot. What do you think?

My friend Karri is packing her bags and moving from IOWA to NYC. Wow! I'm so excited for her! I wanted to make sure to send her off in style with this recycled plastic bag. Our favorite side is the robot. What do you think?

 

Last but not least, this classic Stretch & Sew pattern. I found this in my basement a few months ago and have just been WAITING to find the perfect fabric to make it. Actually, I made one a few weeks ago on a double knit and painted on it, its too thick. Anyways, this is going to pair perfect with my new bike shirts and neon sports bra. This is the first time Ive sewn on knit, luckily these S&S patterns are pretty easy. I had to redo one of the arm holes because it was really wormy. In the end, I added a braided cord (same fabric) to the neck and it lays perfect now. Im hoping I make it onto LATFH.

Last but not least, this classic Stretch & Sew pattern. I found this in my basement a few months ago and have just been WAITING to find the perfect fabric to make it. Actually, I made one a few weeks ago on a double knit and painted on it, it's too thick. Anyways, this is going to pair perfect with my new bike shirts and neon sports bra. This is the first time I've sewn on knit, luckily these S&S patterns are pretty easy. I had to redo one of the arm holes because it was really wormy. In the end, I added a braided cord (same fabric) to the neck and it lays perfect now. I'm hoping I make it onto LATFH.

3 responses to “Super Summer Sewing

  1. First of all, the bag loves New York, and New York loves the bag. Second of all, I effing love that last dress. Third, you need to come visit, GRAY, these are your people. You’d be a hit.

  2. I love this!! I would totally pay you to make me one!!

  3. Pingback: Google Fashions | Aunt GiGi’s Craft Corner

Leave a Reply

