Saturday Creativity=FAIL

Do you ever have those days where you think it’s going to be a GREAT crafting day, and then it blows?

That was my Saturday, June 13. 

It started out kinda dark and gloomy, kinda rainy… the sky was unsure of itself. The perfect day to stay inside and make stuff. First thing on the agenda: Lemon Yogurt Bread. This is a tried and true recipe my mom and I have been making for years. We came across the recipe in our church cookbook from the ’90s (Immanuel Lutheran Church of Waukee, “Fellowship of Food” Cookbook, 1995). We’ve both flawlessly executed this bread hundreds of times. I even got a blue ribbon at the Dallas County Fair with it! 

Now, I love trying substitutions in recipes to make them healthier. Splenda and I are very good friends. Wheat flour and I also get along. When I got out the oil, and saw that I needed ONE CUP of oil, I thought no, this wasn’t going to happen. So I quick Googled “oil substitutions” and found out that I could use applesauce instead. So I did. And this is what happened:

 

Lemon Yogurt Bread = FAIL

Lemon Yogurt Bread = FAIL It's dull and lifeless. Look how it raised and then fell. It's not supposed to do that. WHY ME???

 Here’s the recipe to show me up and make your own, if you follow the directions, I promise it will turn out AWESOME:

Lemon Yogurt Bread

Instead of lemon, you can use any yogurt and extract flavor you choose!

Ingredients:

  • 3 c flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 c vegetable oil
  • 1 3/4 c sugar (Splenda)
  • 2 c lemon yogurt (we use 3 regular size containers)
  • 1 tbs lemon extract

Directions:

  • Mid dry ingredieents. Set aside.
  • Lightly beat eggs in large bowl. Add oil and sugar, cream well.
  • Mix in yogurt and extract.
  • Mix in dry ingredients.
  • Spoon into 2 well-greased loaf pans. Bake at 325 for 1 hour. 

Moving on.

Well my bread didn’t turn out, but that’s ok right? I’ll do some sewing today! I had a few more shirts from the boy to resew, and one of them was going to make a perfect skirt. You may remember Not Your School Girl Plaid Skirt from May, and although that skirt is really cute, I wanted to try a different skirt pattern. That pattern used a piece of elastic in the casing, and I just don’t dig the belt thing. I did some research (ok, Googling) and didn’t find a pattern I really liked, or perhaps I just wasn’t in the mood to follow directions. I decided to wing it. 

What I do love about that previous skirt is the waistband, I definitely wanted this next skirt to have a waistband. Also wanted it to be kinda gathery at the top, but not with elastic. Why not try a zipper? It can’t be that hard. So I dug out my vintage zippers and found two that matched, one was perfect, the other was just good enough for worst case scenario (of course I wouldn’t need that back-up zipper! that would be crazy!). I grabbed my shirt and got to work!

 

Ready, Set, SEAM RIP! First things first, I seam rippered off the arms and pockets. This takes a little bit longer than just cutting, but it makes for nice seams when you want to use those parts later. After that, I cut the shirt right under the arms.

Ready, Set, SEAM RIP! First things first, I seam rippered off the arms and pockets. This takes a little bit longer than just cutting, but it makes for nice seams when you want to use those parts later.

After I got the shirt taken apart as needed, I cut across the shirt, under the arms. Then I used pieces from the top back panels to make my waistband, I measured around my waist, added a couple of inches for seam allowance and overlap (buttons). I gathered the top of the skirt to fit the waistband, with right sides together, I sewed them together, leaving about 1/2 in seam allowance. Then I folded about 1/2 under on the top of the waistband, basted that together, then folded the waistband down again, and sewed the waistband to the skirt, again. 

Then I added my zipper. I followed directions (merely guidelines) from the spring SewStylish magazine for sewing zippers, I wanted the zipper to be covered. It looked pretty good! I was really proud of my work thus far, so I showed my mom! And when I went to zip up the skirt… I took the handle of the zipper right off. She informed me that you cannot put it back on. And politely told me, through my tears, that I would have to replace the zipper. Did I mention that it took me like an hour to get the zipper installed? HATE MY LIFE.

 

These should not be separate.

These should not be separate.

Saturday Score:

  • Zipper: 1
  • Bread: 1
  • Aunt GiGi: 0

We ate dinner, and after dinner I replaced the zipper with the backup one. It doesn’t look as good. But I learned my lesson. Never fuck with zippers unless they has been whip-stitched or stoppers attached. The good news is, I’ll never make that mistake again.

It’s Sunday now, and I’ve got the buttons attached to the skirt and it’s all pretty and ready to be worn. I am feeling better about my bread and zipper fiasco.

 

All done, and pretty.

All done, and pretty.

 

View from side. You can kinda see the shafty zipper work, but the pockets look nice.

View from side. You can kinda see the shafty zipper work, but the pockets look nice.

On a side note, I will be in a magical land with no Internets connection for two weeks. Is it heaven? No, no, it’s Illinois.

One response to “Saturday Creativity=FAIL

  1. Pingback: Bold Fabric and Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone « Curiositys

Leave a Reply

