Chop Top WRANGLER Frock

 

The Gem was upset with me for not sewing for like 4 weeks, and had to spend most of Monday in time-out. Yes. My sewing machine sat in time out. 

I was planning on making this black dress out of a very thick knit, a ponte, apparently. I get all the pieces cut out; the pattern says it’s only going to take an hour. I get a 4 in strip ready to test, you know, make sure the machine is going to work, to decide how big my stitches should be… it won’t catch. The spool and bobbin thread wouldn’t play together and the needle would go through, but neither thread would stay. WTF?

Mom insisted I use her big bad machine, and it worked fine. Here’s the final product:

 

Im really happy with the final product! This dress can go casual or dressy, perfect for the office or dinner. But next time, Im using a thinner knit.

I'm really happy with the final product! This dress can go casual or dressy, perfect for the office or dinner. But next time, I'm using a thinner knit.

 

As mentioned in a previous post, the bf went garage saling and came back with some fantastic mid-90’s Wrangler shirts for me to re-sew. I’m still completely obsessed with my Chop Top Frock shirt, and I decided to make another! 

 

The final product! Mom and I think that it doesnt look like a western shirt anymore, but has a Hawaiian feel now. I love this!

The final product! Mom and I think that it doesn't look like a western shirt anymore, but has a Hawaiian feel now. I love this!

 

When I was all done, I noticed a hole in the top of the pocket. WTF? I was like Mom! They effed up the pocket! Look! Theres a hole! That sucks! To which she informs me that the hole is supposed to be there and its to hold a pen. What? I looked closer and saw that the stitching around the hole was all double stitched. Ill never wear this shirt without a pen in the pocket.

When I was all done, I noticed a hole in the top of the pocket. WTF? I was like "Mom! They effed up the pocket! Look! There's a hole! That sucks!" To which she informs me that the hole is supposed to be there and it's to hold a pen. What? I looked closer and saw that the stitching around the hole was all double stitched. I'll never wear this shirt without a pen in the pocket.

One response to “Chop Top WRANGLER Frock

  1. I absolutely LOVE this frock!! Love the colors and that it’s “upcycled” and I am on the search for a fabulous western shirt to give this a try! Thanks for sharing! I added a link and your tutorial to my blog of favorites! Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

