Not Your School Girl Plaid Skirt

More recycled clothing from men’s shirts!

You may remember previous posts such as Chop Top Frock and Who Writes Clothes Patterns Anyways? where I used men’s shirts to create a fun summer top and dress, well this time I took it below the belt (actually, the belt AND below) with a fantastic skirt!

This one-of-a-kind beauty comes from a shirt my brothers wore in the early 90s. 

I found the pattern on Craftstylish.com, which is my new obsession. The pattern comes from Christine Haynes, who also designed the “Tux Shirt Redux” on the cover of Craft Stylish. >>>

I was pretty excited to find out that it was her design, because her directions are simple and clear – perfect for someone like me who relatively new to sewing and doesn’t always follow directions well!

So you want to make your own? How to Make a Belted Skirt from a Men’s Dress Shirt instructions. Read her directions close on what type of shirt to buy – shirttail vs straight bottom. Mine has a slight shirttail, but only a couple of inches worth so it doesn’t really effect it. 

There’s a few things I really love about this skirt:

  1. Men’s shirts are not flattering on women. Belted, unbelted, only people like  Vanessa Hudgens can get away with just wearing a men’s shirt and a pair of cowboy boots. With that said, it’s fun to be able to wear this shirt not as a shirt.
  2. This was one of my brothers’ shirts that I’ve always really loved! Again, I like being able to wear it. It’s soft. And just like family.
  3. The Pocket. Before I cut the shirt apart to sew, I seam rippered the pocket off. I sewed it back on when the skirt was all done, a little off kilter to catch your eye. See it?

I joined a Flickr group called Build Your Summer Wardrobe, it’s also a new obsession. I have to check back everyday to see what the others have posted! Also check out Curiositys, lots and lots of fun projects to look at!

One response to “Not Your School Girl Plaid Skirt

  1. Pingback: Saturday Creativity=FAIL « Aunt GiGi’s Craft Corner

Leave a Reply

