Not Too Pretty To Eat

My mother insisted it was not right that I make my own birthday cake, and demanded she help. I let her. 

The parents always made birthdays special, one of my favorite traditions was The Cake. My mom would make whatever cake we wanted! And by, ‘whatever cake we wanted’ I mean we got to choose the cake color and frosting color. I always picked angel food. Purple, teal, black, she always made the perfect cake. When I was two, she was still into Wilton cake decorating and was making me a Pink Panther cake. I didn’t want to wait for the cake, so when it was cooling on a rack on the table, I snuck in the kitchen and ate about 3/4 of it. I don’t regret it. And every year she reminds me that she had to make me another cake. Thank you, Mom!

A few months ago my friend Karess sent me this link for a Rainbow Cake. Genius. I feel like an idiot for not thinking of it myself.

Here’s what went down:

 

Separate the batter into X amount of bowls. I choose 5 colors. Also make sure your pans are sprayed well so the cake pops right out.

Separate the batter into X amount of bowls. I choose 5 colors. Also make sure your pans are sprayed well so the cake pops right out.

 

Make your colors! We used LOTS of food coloring - all from your generic four-color box of liquid red/blue/green/yellow. Use as much as you like!

Make your colors! We used LOTS of food coloring - all from your generic four-color box of liquid red/blue/green/yellow. Use as much as you like!

 

Scoop the batter into the pans. Try to make each pan equal. We used bigger spoonfuls, next time I will try smaller. Shake the pans, hit them on the table a few times, to get the air bubbles out. Bake cakes.

Scoop the batter into the pans. Try to make each pan equal. We used bigger spoonfuls, next time I will try smaller. Shake the pans, hit them on the table a few times, to get the air bubbles out. Bake cakes.

 

 Add filling! Perfect Cake Filling: 8oz box of cream cheese, 1 package of instant pudding, 1/3 cup of milk, 8oz (1 container) of whipped topping, 4tsp flavoring (optional, use any flavor - I choose raspberry extract)

Add filling! Perfect Cake Filling: 8oz box of cream cheese, 1 package of instant pudding, 1/3 cup of milk, 8oz (1 container) of whipped topping, 4tsp flavoring (optional, use any flavor - I choose raspberry extract)

Frost cake. Decorate. Use lots of sprinkles.

Frost cake. Decorate. Use lots of sprinkles.

 

Eat.

Eat.

Eat more.

Eat more.

 

See how delicious the cake looks, and keep eating more.

See how delicious the cake looks, and keep eating more.

Stop being jealous, go make your own cake.

4 responses to “Not Too Pretty To Eat

  1. holy hell, that’s amazing! bake me one when i’m home please! 🙂

  2. This is the funnest, most colorful cake I’ve ever seen! Happy Belated Birthday!

  3. Thanx guys! Let me know if you make your own! I want to see everyone else’s take on this delicious goodness!

  4. This cake is the bomb! Thanks Ginny~ going to whip it up for July Bdays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

