2nd Annual Cupcake and Wine Party

Woohoo! The 2nd Annual Cupcake and Wine Party was a success! This year we had a total of 11 adults and two children, far surpassed last year’s attendance record.

You shouldn’t even have to ask, but yes, I tried each of these. A few of them multiple times, probably more than I should admit. I can’t help it. I.Love.Cupcakes. (mostly ones that are drowning in frosting)

Before I photobomb this post, I have to make a few confessions.

The Cupcakes: I ruined 3.5 batches of cupcakes the weekend prior. I was going to spend a Saturday baking away! And I thought I was excited, but apparently my head was not in the game. The first batch went well – these were the Breakfast Blends, which was actually made from pancake batter. The second was a box of yellow cake mix. I divided the batter in two for different flavors. There were two pans, they went in a few minutes apart. I was closely watching one of them because it had Graham cracker chunks in it and I didn’t want it to dry out. That one came out first. They seemed to be a little brown on top, but I tested one and it tasted great, so I was happy. Then the timer went off for the second pan. These were well done, like too dry and ugly to cover with frosting. WTF? I know my oven is wonky, but I’ve never ruined cupcakes like this. Then I noticed the oven was cranked to 450. Thanx Ken! So, it’s not that I leave my child unattended in the kitchen, I usually shoe him away from the stove when he gets close, but he is Ninja fast. 

I was using recipes from this Better Homes and Gardens cupcake book, and the recipes kept calling for “a box with pudding in the mix” so then I thought, “Hey! Let’s just make pudding and ADD it to the cake mix!” Nope. A full batch ruined.

Then I made a batch of perfectly fine Chocolate cupcakes!

It was getting to be mid-afternoon now. I didn’t want to run to the store again, so being the awesome baker that I am, I decided to stop being lazy and make a freaking cake from scratch. I have done it before, I promise. So I did! And then I took the first pan of cupcakes out of the oven and realized something was off. They hadn’t risen. I FORGOT THE BAKING POWDER. And of course I already had the next pan(s) in their cupcake papers already. Oh, I should also mention that I doubled this batch of made-from-scratch cake?

Just throwing some basic math out there, that’s 3.5 batches of cupcakes ruined. At this point I decided we were going out to eat for dinner, as I was not going to ruin Saturday Night Dinner. (The ruined cupcakes actually tasted delicious, so I salvaged what I could and froze it to make cake balls this coming weekend. So it’s not going to waste!)

And the next morning, I went to the store and bought two more boxes of cake mix. I made them exactly as the directions stated, didn’t even sub buttermilk for water.

Frosting: None of my frostings turned out the way I wanted them. They were delicious tasting, but not the correct consistency. The chocolate was too runny, so it wouldn’t hold it’s shape. Peanut Butter, Maple and Marshmallows were all too thick to pipe from a zip-bag, so I had to use the cookie/ice cream scoop for those. Oh, and I killed my hand-mixer while making the chocolate frosting. Like, dunzo, needs to be tossed, killed it.

Let the photobomb begin.

Cupcake Smorgasbord

Breakfast Blend

Crowd Winner! I think I’ll be making these for the next Ray Family Gathering
Cake: Pancake batter, plus some brown sugar. I had half a box of whole wheat mix and some Heart Smart Bisquick. The batter wasn’t sweet enough on it’s own. Also in the cake was delicious Farmland Pork and Bacon Sausage (look in your freezer section), cook it, drain it, add it to the batter.
Frosting: Maple (cream cheese, butter/margarine/crisco, milk, powdered sugar, maple syrup and maple extract flavoring), with Real Bacon sprinkles

Almond Joy

This was my favorite :-) If you’re into the Almond Joy candy bar at all, this one is for you.
Cake: Chocolate, regular chocolate cake mix. Each is filled with Almond Joy filling, which is just coconut and sweet and condensed milk (more coconut than SACM, you just need enough to coat the coconut). Once the batter is in the cupcake pan, add a tablespoon (or two, or three) of the coconut/sweet and condensed milk mixture and bake as normal. The coconut will brown on top just a little. I feel like I’ve unlocked a secret baking badge with this. Homemade Almond Joys???
Frosting: Chocolate (cream cheese, butter/marg, milk, powdered sugar, cocoa powder and Hershey’s syrup, lots of Hershey’s) and cute almonds on top

Cup-O-Joe

Cake: Chocolate Cake mix. Use Super Strong Coffee instead of water. I brewed my strongest K-cup (Revv) plus added 3 tbs of instant coffee. Pretty sure I added a couple more tbs of instant coffee to the batter after I initially mixed it up. Oddly enough, it didn’t have a strong coffee flavor when baked. I was disappointed, I didn’t follow a recipe because I wanted mine super strong.
Frosting: Chocolate (cream cheese, butter/marg, milk, powdered sugar, cocoa powder and Hershey’s syrup, lots of Hershey’s) and Chocolate Covered Coffee Beans on top (melt chocolate bark, add coffee beans, spread on pan to cool, break apart, top on cupcakes or just eat)

Salted Nut Roll

These were also a little slice of heaven.
Cake: Yellow cake, mixed and baked as normal. Once cooked and cooled, I scooped out a half tablespoon or teaspoon of cake from each cupcake. Before frosting, add a heaping tablespoon of caramel to the hole.
Caramel: you could use ice cream topping or whatever, but I had an extra can of Sweet and Condensed Milk, so I cooked it in my 2qt slow cooker on low overnight, creating perfect caramel goodness.
Frosting: Marshmallow (mallow cream, butter/marg, milk, powdered sugar, baby mallows), topped with caramel and salted nuts.
This is a messy one! 

Peanut Butter and Jelly

Cake: Yellow cake, mixed and baked as normal. Just like the Salted Nut Roll, once cut and cooled, scoop out a small chunk of the cake to create a lake for the jelly. I used good ‘ol grape jelly for this, squeeze it in the hole (thatswhatshesaid), cover with frosting.
Frosting: Peanut butter! (cream cheese, powdered sugar, milk, butter/marg and peanut butter), topped with peanut butter chips

S'more

Cake: Yellow cake, with chocolate chips and Graham Cracker chunks baked in. Watch your baking times, the grahams will dry out the cake batter.
Frosting:  Marshmallow (mallow cream, butter/marg, milk, powdered sugar, baby mallows), topped with chocolate chips and Teddy Grahams.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Delight

Cake: Chocolate, with peanut butter chips.
Frosting:  Peanut butter! (cream cheese, powdered sugar, milk, butter/marg and peanut butter), topped with peanut butter chips

3 responses to “2nd Annual Cupcake and Wine Party

  1. Omg!! These look so yummy!! I’m so sorry I missed it!

  2. Ginny–Once again you are amazing. You have some combinations that I would never think of but they sound wonderfull

  3. Your Almond Joy cupcakes look awesome. I wont bake unless I have at least 5 people to give the goods to once I’m done, otherwise NOTHING will stop me from destroying everything I’ve cooked.

Leave a Reply

